One More Finance Get started

Cash advance in Michigan: what the state allows and what it costs

By Ronnie Houk · Updated 2026-08-29

Short answer

Michigan allows payday-style cash advances up to $600. The fee is 15% on first $100, 14% on 2nd $100, 13% on 3rd $100, 12% on 4th $100, 11% on 5th & 6th $100, terms run Max 31 days, and rollovers are limited (forbidden). A typical $300 advance costs $42 in fees — total repayment $342.

Source: Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services — https://www.michigan.gov/difs · MCL 487.2121 et seq. (Deferred Presentment Service Transactions Act)

Michigan cash advance rules at a glance

StatusAllowed
Maximum amount$600
Maximum fee / rate15% on first $100, 14% on 2nd $100, 13% on 3rd $100, 12% on 4th $100, 11% on 5th & 6th $100
TermMax 31 days
RolloversForbidden
Cooling-off / rescindEnd of next business day
Typical APR365%
RegulatorMichigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services

The math on a typical Michigan loan

Michigan sets the fee at 15% on first $100, 14% on 2nd $100, 13% on 3rd $100, 12% on 4th $100, 11% on 5th & 6th $100. On the state’s typical $300 advance that is $42 in fees, so you receive $258 in cash and repay $342 on due date. Annualized, that is roughly 365% — the number to compare against every alternative on this page.

How to get one in Michigan

  1. Check the Michigan rules below so you know the legal cost before you shop.
  2. Gather proof of income, a government ID and your bank account details.
  3. Compare a storefront lender, an online lender, and an app advance on total repayment — not just the headline fee.
  4. Borrow only what the next paycheck can absorb, and read the total-of-payments line before signing.

Lenders Michigan borrowers compare

Facts from each lender’s own disclosures, verified September 2026. Inclusion is not a recommendation; availability in MI must be confirmed with the lender and the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services.
LenderProductAmountsPublished cost
OppLoans
Bank partner
Unsecured installment loans $500 – $5,000 Discloses a maximum APR of 195% for loans it originates and services; no origination or prepayment fees
NetCredit
Bank partner
Personal installment loans and lines of credit Loans up to $10,000 (6–60 months); lines of credit up to $4,500 APR varies by state and is disclosed before signing; no penalty for early payoff; reports to major credit bureaus
Rise
Bank partner
Online installment loans Not stated Site's own wording: "This is an expensive form of credit" — full pricing sits in its per-state Rates & Terms
Possible Finance
Hybrid
Possible Loan (app-based installment) and Possible Advance (paycheck advance) Loan: up to $500. Advance: up to $300 (first advances average $85; non-member max $150) Advance: no interest, late, rollover or tipping fees; Loan pricing per state sample schedules; payments reschedulable up to 29 days out at no fee
CashNetUSA
Mixed
Payday advances and installment loans — product mix varies by state Not stated Pricing is published on its per-state Rates & Terms page rather than as a single national figure

Prefer in person? The national storefront chains, what a licensed location may charge, and the license check: cash advance places.

Considering the tribal route? It repays over months instead of one payday, which helps budgets — but APRs commonly run 250%–700%. See which tribal lenders serve Michigan (exclusion lists, published APRs) and the full tribal installment loans review.

What an advance costs in , amount by amount

Derived from ’s own worked example (a $300 loan carrying a $42 fee). Round figures in dollars.

AmountFee for the termTotal repaidAPR ballpark
$100$1,400$1,500365%
$255$3,570$3,825365%
$300$4,200$4,500365%
$500$7,000$7,500365%

Fee rate: 15% on first $100, 14% on 2nd $100, 13% on 3rd $100, 12% on 4th $100, 11% on 5th & 6th $100 · statute MCL 487.2121 et seq. (Deferred Presentment Service Transactions Act). Some states hand you the amount minus the fee; others fund the full amount — your contract controls.

Borrower scenarios in Michigan

Composite scenarios built from typical situations and the cost math on this page — not quotes from named individuals.

Car repair

A commuter’s car fails a week before payday. The repair is not optional — without it, no work. An advance covers the shop bill today; the trade-off is repaying $114 — the $14 fee is the price of moving the repair two weeks earlier.

$100 advance in Michigan · $14 fee

Compare that fee against the cost of missing work before signing.

Prescription pickup

An urgent prescription lands between paychecks, full price at the counter. A small advance gets the prescription the same day; the loan costs $36 and settles at $291 with the next check.

$255 advance in Michigan · $36 fee

Small advances are where app-based options are usually cheaper than any loan.

Second-hand appliance

A refrigerator dies in summer. A used replacement is available today at a cash price. The advance buys the replacement now instead of rent-to-own; the $42 fee on a $342 repayment is a one-time cost against months of installments.

$300 advance in Michigan · $42 fee

One-time fees compound slower than weekly rental contracts — compare totals.

If a lender crosses the line: complain

The Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services enforces MCL 487.2121 et seq. (Deferred Presentment Service Transactions Act). If a lender charges above the cap, rolls a loan against the rules, or harasses you over collection, a complaint costs you nothing and feeds the enforcement file:

  1. Keep the contract, payment records and every message from the lender.
  2. File through the regulator’s site: https://www.michigan.gov/difs.
  3. Cite the statute (MCL 487.2121 et seq. (Deferred Presentment Service Transactions Act)) and say exactly which rule was broken — specific complaints move faster.
  4. Copy the CFPB complaint portal; federal and state files talk to each other.

Four words that change the math

APR
Annual Percentage Rate — what the loan costs per year, expressed as a percentage of the amount borrowed. A two-week fee looks small; annualized, it is the number that reveals the true price.
Soft vs hard credit check
A soft check reviews your file without affecting your score; a hard check is a formal credit application that can move your score a few points. Most cash advance lenders use only soft checks or none.
Payday alternative loan (PAL)
A small-dollar loan from a federal credit union: $200–$2,000, terms of one to twelve months, APR capped at 28%. The cheapest licensed route in most states — if you can join the credit union.
Rollover
Paying a fee to push the due date back instead of repaying. Each rollover adds a full fee without reducing what you owe — the main way a two-week loan becomes a months-long debt.

Cities in Michigan we cover

DetroitGrand RapidsWarrenSterling HeightsFlintAnn ArborLansingClintonKalamazooDearbornLivoniaCantonSaginawSouthfieldMacomb

Neighboring states

WisconsinOhioIndianaIllinoisKentucky

Quick answers for Michigan borrowers:

How much can a cash advance cost in Michigan?

Michigan caps payday-style advances at $600 with 15% on first $100, 14% on 2nd $100, 13% on 3rd $100, 12% on 4th $100, 11% on 5th & 6th $100. Terms run Max 31 days; rollovers: forbidden. Source: Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services, MCL 487.2121 et seq. (Deferred Presentment Service Transactions Act).

What do I need to qualify in Michigan?

Standard requirements: 18 or older, verifiable income, an active checking account, and a government ID. Most lenders skip a hard credit check; approval depends on income rather than score.

Can Michigan residents get same-day funding?

Storefront lenders pay cash on approval during business hours. Online lenders fund by ACH — next business day typically, same-day where an expedited transfer is offered. App advances with instant transfer can land in minutes.

What if a Michigan lender charges more than the cap?

Report it. The Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services enforces MCL 487.2121 et seq. (Deferred Presentment Service Transactions Act); unlicensed or over-cap lending is exactly what the agency exists to catch. Keep the contract and payment records.

Do tribal installment loans work in Michigan?

Tribal lenders operate under tribal law and serve most states, with per-lender exclusion lists that change over time. They cost more than state-capped products but repay in installments. Compare total of payments before signing.

Request a cash advance for any of these needs

Medical and dental bills Cover the copay or prescription now — free to check, minutes to apply.
Utility bills Stop the disconnect today — request funds before the deadline hits.
Rent shortfall Close the rent gap now and skip the late fee — check your offer in two minutes.
Overdraft buyout Swap two $34 bank fees for one flat fee — request the advance today.
Urgent travel Book the trip now, repay from the next check — start with a free check.
Essentials in a short week Cover gas, groceries and transit today — request up to your available limit.

The case for starting here

Ready to move? Request your cash advance now — free to check, no hard credit pull at this step.

Check what you could qualify for

Free check · Michigan residents · no hard credit pull at this step.

Takes you to the application page · free to check · no hard credit pull at this step.
Apply now