Golden Valley Lending, a brand of the Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake (CA), offers installment loans (payday-alternative positioning) — and is currently paused: the site states it is not funding new loans. Amounts: $300–$1,000 first; up to $1,500 repeat. Cost: No numeric APR published; disclosures in the loan agreement. Its state availability list is not published — eligibility is confirmed during the application.
| Product | Installment loans (payday-alternative positioning) |
|---|---|
| Amounts | $300–$1,000 first; up to $1,500 repeat |
| Terms | Multiple installments; length not stated |
| Published cost | No numeric APR published; disclosures in the loan agreement |
| Tribe / owner | Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake (CA) |
| Tribal regulator / disputes | None named — borrower submits to tribal jurisdiction |
| Status | Paused — Site states it is no longer funding new loans; the tribe’s sister brands share the CFPB 2017 enforcement history. |
| Official site | goldenvalleylending.com |
This lender does not put a full numeric APR on its site — the binding number arrives in the loan agreement. That is common in the sector and legal under tribal code, but it means you should demand the total of payments in writing before you accept. Terms allow multiple installments, so compare the sum of all payments against a state-capped payday option and a credit-union PAL before signing.
Disputes with Golden Valley Lending route to none named — borrower submits to tribal jurisdiction — not to your state attorney general. State regulators in several of the excluded states take the position that their caps should apply anyway; the safest consumer posture is to borrow only what the repayment schedule can absorb without strain.
Disputes route to none named — borrower submits to tribal jurisdiction under the loan agreement, not to your state attorney general. Keep the contract and every payment record, escalate in writing through the lender’s dispute process first, then file with the CFPB complaint database — federal complaints against tribal lenders are tracked even when enforcement routes to tribal forums.
Site states it is no longer funding new loans; the tribe’s sister brands share the CFPB 2017 enforcement history — that is the published history we verified from public records. For anything newer, check the CFPB complaint database and your state attorney general’s announcements before applying; exclusion lists often harden after enforcement activity.
Golden Valley Lending operates under the tribe’s lending code, and the brand asserts sovereign immunity from state rate caps — a position state regulators dispute and courts have split on. The loan you sign is real and enforceable, which is why the total-of-payments line matters more here than anywhere else in this market.
Expect the standard high-cost sequence: NSF or late fees, repeated ACH debits against your account, then collection through the arbitration or tribal-court process named in the agreement rather than your state courts. Some lenders sell delinquencies to collectors. None of it improves your credit — on-time repayment usually is not reported either.
Ready to move? Request your tribal installment loan now — free to check, no hard credit pull at this step.
Free to check · no hard credit pull at this step.