One More Finance Get started

Cash advance in Virginia: what the state allows and what it costs

By Ronnie Houk · Updated 2026-08-29

Short answer

Virginia allows payday-style cash advances up to 2 loans max. The fee is 36% apr + $25 monthly maintenance fee, terms run 120-730 days, and rollovers are limited (forbidden). A typical $300 advance costs — in fees — total repayment —.

Source: Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Financial Institutions — https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Financial-Institutions · Va. Code Ann. § 6.2-1800 et seq. (Fairness in Lending Act)

Virginia cash advance rules at a glance

Status36% APR Cap
Maximum amount2 loans max
Maximum fee / rate36% APR + $25 monthly maintenance fee
Term120-730 days
RolloversForbidden
Cooling-off / rescind3rd business day by 5:00 PM
Typical APRMax 36%
RegulatorVirginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Financial Institutions

The math on a typical Virginia loan

Virginia sets the fee at 36% apr + $25 monthly maintenance fee. On the state’s typical $300 advance that is — in fees, so you receive $300 in cash and repay — on due date. Annualized, that is roughly Max 36% — the number to compare against every alternative on this page.

How to get one in Virginia

  1. Check the Virginia rules below so you know the legal cost before you shop.
  2. Gather proof of income, a government ID and your bank account details.
  3. Compare a storefront lender, an online lender, and an app advance on total repayment — not just the headline fee.
  4. Borrow only what the next paycheck can absorb, and read the total-of-payments line before signing.

Lenders Virginia borrowers compare

Facts from each lender’s own disclosures, verified September 2026. Inclusion is not a recommendation; availability in VA must be confirmed with the lender and the Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Financial Institutions.
LenderProductAmountsPublished cost
OppLoans
Bank partner
Unsecured installment loans $500 – $5,000 Discloses a maximum APR of 195% for loans it originates and services; no origination or prepayment fees
NetCredit
Bank partner
Personal installment loans and lines of credit Loans up to $10,000 (6–60 months); lines of credit up to $4,500 APR varies by state and is disclosed before signing; no penalty for early payoff; reports to major credit bureaus
Rise
Bank partner
Online installment loans Not stated Site's own wording: "This is an expensive form of credit" — full pricing sits in its per-state Rates & Terms
Possible Finance
Hybrid
Possible Loan (app-based installment) and Possible Advance (paycheck advance) Loan: up to $500. Advance: up to $300 (first advances average $85; non-member max $150) Advance: no interest, late, rollover or tipping fees; Loan pricing per state sample schedules; payments reschedulable up to 29 days out at no fee
CashNetUSA
Mixed
Payday advances and installment loans — product mix varies by state Not stated Pricing is published on its per-state Rates & Terms page rather than as a single national figure

Prefer in person? The national storefront chains, what a licensed location may charge, and the license check: cash advance places.

Considering the tribal route? It repays over months instead of one payday, which helps budgets — but APRs commonly run 250%–700%. See which tribal lenders serve Virginia (exclusion lists, published APRs) and the full tribal installment loans review.

Borrower scenarios in Virginia

Composite scenarios built from typical situations and the cost math on this page — not quotes from named individuals.

Car repair

A commuter’s car fails a week before payday. The repair is not optional — without it, no work. An advance covers the shop bill today; the trade-off is repaying $115 — the $15 fee is the price of moving the repair two weeks earlier.

$100 advance in Virginia · $15 fee

Compare that fee against the cost of missing work before signing.

Prescription pickup

An urgent prescription lands between paychecks, full price at the counter. A small advance gets the prescription the same day; the loan costs $38 and settles at $293 with the next check.

$255 advance in Virginia · $38 fee

Small advances are where app-based options are usually cheaper than any loan.

Second-hand appliance

A refrigerator dies in summer. A used replacement is available today at a cash price. The advance buys the replacement now instead of rent-to-own; the $45 fee on a $345 repayment is a one-time cost against months of installments.

$300 advance in Virginia · $45 fee

One-time fees compound slower than weekly rental contracts — compare totals.

If a lender crosses the line: complain

The Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Financial Institutions enforces Va. Code Ann. § 6.2-1800 et seq. (Fairness in Lending Act). If a lender charges above the cap, rolls a loan against the rules, or harasses you over collection, a complaint costs you nothing and feeds the enforcement file:

  1. Keep the contract, payment records and every message from the lender.
  2. File through the regulator’s site: https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Financial-Institutions.
  3. Cite the statute (Va. Code Ann. § 6.2-1800 et seq. (Fairness in Lending Act)) and say exactly which rule was broken — specific complaints move faster.
  4. Copy the CFPB complaint portal; federal and state files talk to each other.

The vocabulary that decides the price

APR
Annual Percentage Rate — what the loan costs per year, expressed as a percentage of the amount borrowed. A two-week fee looks small; annualized, it is the number that reveals the true price.
Soft vs hard credit check
A soft check reviews your file without affecting your score; a hard check is a formal credit application that can move your score a few points. Most cash advance lenders use only soft checks or none.
Payday alternative loan (PAL)
A small-dollar loan from a federal credit union: $200–$2,000, terms of one to twelve months, APR capped at 28%. The cheapest licensed route in most states — if you can join the credit union.
Rollover
Paying a fee to push the due date back instead of repaying. Each rollover adds a full fee without reducing what you owe — the main way a two-week loan becomes a months-long debt.

Cities in Virginia we cover

Virginia BeachNorfolkChesapeakeRichmondArlingtonNewport NewsAlexandriaHamptonRoanokePortsmouthSuffolkLynchburgCentrevilleDale CityReston

Neighboring states

District of ColumbiaMarylandWest VirginiaNorth CarolinaDelaware

Quick answers for Virginia borrowers:

How much can a cash advance cost in Virginia?

Virginia caps payday-style advances at 2 loans max with 36% apr + $25 monthly maintenance fee. Terms run 120-730 days; rollovers: forbidden. Source: Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Financial Institutions, Va. Code Ann. § 6.2-1800 et seq. (Fairness in Lending Act).

What do I need to qualify in Virginia?

Standard requirements: 18 or older, verifiable income, an active checking account, and a government ID. Most lenders skip a hard credit check; approval depends on income rather than score.

Can Virginia residents get same-day funding?

Storefront lenders pay cash on approval during business hours. Online lenders fund by ACH — next business day typically, same-day where an expedited transfer is offered. App advances with instant transfer can land in minutes.

What if a Virginia lender charges more than the cap?

Report it. The Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Financial Institutions enforces Va. Code Ann. § 6.2-1800 et seq. (Fairness in Lending Act); unlicensed or over-cap lending is exactly what the agency exists to catch. Keep the contract and payment records.

Do tribal installment loans work in Virginia?

Tribal lenders operate under tribal law and serve most states, with per-lender exclusion lists that change over time. They cost more than state-capped products but repay in installments. Compare total of payments before signing.

What will you use your cash advance for?

Car repair Fund the repair today and get back to work — see your offer before the shop closes.
Medical and dental bills Cover the copay or prescription now — free to check, minutes to apply.
Utility bills Stop the disconnect today — request funds before the deadline hits.
Rent shortfall Close the rent gap now and skip the late fee — check your offer in two minutes.
Overdraft buyout Swap two $34 bank fees for one flat fee — request the advance today.
Urgent travel Book the trip now, repay from the next check — start with a free check.

Why choose Virginia?

Ready to move? Request your cash advance now — free to check, no hard credit pull at this step.

Check what you could qualify for

Free check · Virginia residents · no hard credit pull at this step.

Takes you to the application page · free to check · no hard credit pull at this step.
Apply now